Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin’s album Broom is a recently rediscovered album for me. I was introduced to it last year by a friend and it held its own in my car stereo for a few months. Now it is back from its hiatus and I almost had forgotten why I loved it so much in the beginning. It’s a great background music album with enough variety in song styles and within the songs themselves that it doesn’t get boring. What is most unexpected is that little indescribable something (some call it a spark) that distinguishes them from all the other “almost” bands. At times you can definitely feel an old Phantom Planet or Weezer vibe. I’m quite curious to see what their next album what will have in store.

Sometimes all it takes is one line to make a song. “You know I still find you dashing” was the one that made “House Fire” for me. The verses are simple, sweet and tinted by sadness, but the chorus comes in and the Phantom Planet connection can really be made in the strong strums and rhythm. The verses bemoan the demise of a relationship while the chorus attempts to rectify the situation with advice creating a nice balance so as to not leave the listener wallowing in a pit of sadness. That was thoughtful.

Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin – House Fire