Archives for the day of: April 17, 2008

If you are in search of that great little summer album, Kate Nash’s Made of Bricks is probably it. A nice mashup of the quirkiness of Regina Spektor and Britishness of Lily Allen would be my closest comparison, so if you like both of those artists, Kate Nash is right up your alley. Not every song beckons to be single, but all are quite honest, interesting, and fun.

Upon listening to “Merry Happy”, I had this feeling that I just heard it. Then it hit me that the verses sounded just like Helena Carter’s rendition of “Worst Pies in London” from Sweeney Todd that I just watched this weekend! Maybe it was the British accent, or the talk-sing thing, or maybe I’m just weird. Either way, this is a fun song, and it’s just one of the many on Made of Bricks. And stick around to the end of the song when she does a little casual improv singing that really lets you enjoy the casualness of her voice.

Kate Nash – Merry Happy

Sometimes you have to be in the right place in your life for an album to really speak to you, and with Neon Bible and me that time is right now. This album has been making waves for a while now, but it’s just currently been rocking my boat like crazy. I’m all about emotion in albums, and this album is emotion. The quiet buildups lead to these incredible releases characterized by layers and layers of “awesomeness” dense with feelings. The feelings themselves are intense and bitter yet incredibly beautiful, extra dark chocolate to the ears.

“Windowsill” and “No Cars Go” were the standout songs to me. “Windowsill” had this quiet restrained buildup that stays restrained even at it’s most intense moments. I was waiting for this burst of crazy uncontrollable vocals at the end, but they left that to the instruments and layering. One verse at the end of “Windowsill” really capped off this song, though it’s hard to hear at first listen:

MTV, what have you done to me?
Save my soul, set me free
Set me free, what have you done to me?
I can’t breathe, I can’t see
World War Three, when are you coming for me?
Been kicking up sparks, we set the flames free
The windows are locked now, so what’ll it be?
A house on fire or a rising sea?

“No Cars Go” hits the intensity with the vocals that I was wanting in “Windowsill”. This incredible strong and deep chorus, reminiscent oddly of Coheed & Cambria’s “In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth:3“, guides the end of this song. The best part of it all is this great trumpet riff that sounds at about 3:15 into the song and continues on randomly in the background. All in all, Neon Bible is a lovely moving experience.

Arcade Fire – Windowsill
Arcade Fire – No Cars Go