Lily Allen just released a few songs from the studio as an appetizer for fans and also to test the reaction to her new sound. I was really surprised to see her go so pop, but she does it well. It just might be a little weird to hear her in the clubs alongside Madonna and Fergie at first. I already miss the flirty fun and slightly fierce way about Lily’s songs. The two songs she released both having this gloomy sadness pervading the verses even through the poppy goodness of them. In my opinion, she doesn’t need diamonds as much as she needs a puppy. Either way, i’m sure she’ll find a way to infuse some classic Lily into her upcoming album, but until then, I don’t know.

Lily Allen – I Don’t Know

And this is one for my roommate. Though quite a Kooks admirer, she has decided Lily Allen’s cover of “Naive” takes the toast. This one also hints at the maturing sound of Lily.

Lily Allen – Naive (Kooks cover)